16 Edouard Beaupré Street
Willow Bunch, SK S0H 4K0
FIFE LAKE CATHOLIC CEMETERY
(R.M. of Poplar Valley #12) – (1920 to 2021)
This particular quarter section was homesteaded by George Cloutier in March of 1909, and he received his patent June 24, 1918. Yet, it is not clear as to how, whether by purchase or by gift, the site became burial grounds for the Catholic Mission/Parish of CHRIST THE KING.
A tall white cross, centrally situated on a picturesque knoll, stands as sentinel in the cemetery. From its site, the visitor is afforded a great view of the surrounding area.
Evidently this site was first used as a cemetery by the Fife Lake Catholic Mission around 1920. In fact, the area’s first Catholic Church was built on this same site in 1924, but with the coming of the railroad in 1926, it was moved closer to the train station where the present town was forming. However, due to rapidly increasing numbers of settlers in the area, a new and larger church was built in the village in 1928. The old church was then sold to the Anglican Bishop for their worship services.
The first interment at this site, that of Selma Margaret Juelfs, took place on May 11, 1920 and the most recent burial is likewise listed in the Master File.
The cemetery is situated about 1/4 mile north of the town of Fife Lake, Sk., alongside the grid-road.
LAND LOCATION: SE 1/4 of Sec. 17, T. 3, R. 28, W2nd, in the R.M. of Poplar Valley #12.
The books for this cemetery are kept in Rockglen, at the Catholic rectory. Phone #476-2037. They’re also accessible in albums at the Willow Bunch Museum and on the Internet at www.willowbunch.ca .
Those people listed in the Master File with “Yes” by the notation “Site Marker:”, have a headstone/marker and their burial spot was located. All other people have no known headstone/marker and their burial spot was not found.
All headstones in the cemetery were checked in person on December 29, 1997, by Gilles A. Bonneau. Afterward, Mr. Bonneau and his brother, Janvier C. Bonneau, painstakingly typed in all the particulars for each entry, with Gilles doing the final editing.
All names have been further checked against the cemetery register, by Gabrielle Granger and Gilles A. Bonneau, for accuracy and to include those people without a headstone.